As the first step in the decommissioning of sasCommunity.org the site has been converted to read-only mode.


Here are some tips for How to share your SAS knowledge with your professional network.


Tip of the Day Talk:Review a Tip

From sasCommunity
Jump to: navigation, search

Plans are to improve both the process and the layout/formatting for Tips of the Day.

If you have a comment on a current suggestion, select the Edit button next to it and place your comment there. And you can use the : to indent your text under the text you are replying to. Add colons as needed to indent more.

To make a new comment, use the Add Topic tab (to the left of the Search box).

And please use the signature icon to insert your name and the datetime of your comment.

Explaining the process on other pages

I thing there should be a link to this page in the explanation on Category:Tip to be Reviewed. - Cameron (talk) 19:15, 27 March 2014 (CDT)

Link added - Cameron (talk) 19:28, 27 March 2014 (CDT)
Good suggestion. And thanks for adding it. As time permits the Tip of the Day Process will be reviewed and updated. --Don Henderson (talk) 06:49, 28 March 2014 (CDT)

Categories

I think this page should be categorized under Category:sasCommunity and Category:Tips, as it describes a process to be followed by Tip of the Day project contributors. Unfortunately the page is edit protected, so cannot be changed. -- Cameron (talk) 19:24, 27 March 2014 (CDT)

Good suggestion. I tried to make this change, but it appears I can no longer edit it. I need to research who can make this change. --DonH (talk) 06:57, 28 March 2014 (CDT)
Done. I was logged in before with one of my test ids that does not have admin rights. --Don Henderson (talk) 07:16, 28 March 2014 (CDT)

Rejected tips

What happens if a tip is rejected? Does it get removed, stay awaiting review or put into an area so we know it has been rejected? - Cameron (talk) 19:27, 27 March 2014 (CDT)

We have only had a handful of rejected tips and we used the Remove Category process to delete them. There was a bit of debate about having a Tip Rejected category. Given concern about folks finding via search and not realizing it had been rejected (perhaps for being wrong or misleading), we felt that such tips needed to be deleted and given resource constraints we did not want to create another removal process. The other reason we could have a tip linger on is that we want to foster collaboration and when suggestions are made (e.g., too long, needs example, needs link to other pages, and so on), we try to avoid having one of us who actively monitor the Tips make those fixes on a regular basis. Thus some tips linger in the review category. --DonH (talk) 07:05, 28 March 2014 (CDT)
While removal is fine for wrong or misleading tips, it may not be the best solution for those tips that need work, such as editing or reformating, especially if the problem the tip deals with is not discussed elsewhere on the wiki. However, what I thought my original question was pointing out was that the process for what happens with rejected tips was not explained on the page. The page should explain that incorrect or misleading tips will be removed while tip submissions that need to be refined before they would be acceptable as a tip might be recategorised to Category:Tip Awaiting Refinement as an alternative to removal. - Cameron (talk) 19:28, 29 March 2014 (CDT)